UN declares famine in parts of Somalia: What it means

East Africa Food Crisis - Somaliland

Aid agencies use a five-phase system called the Integrated Food Security Phase Classification(IPC) to determine the severity of a food crisis. These five regions of Somalia fall in the Phase 5 category, which means that means more than two people per 10,000 die each day, acute malnutrition rates are above 30 percent, all livestock is dead, and there is less than 2,100 kcal of food and 4 liters of water available per person per day.


This entry was posted in Atmosphere, Food & Health, Global Issues, Hazards, Population, Resources and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s