Spotlight shifts to Brazil 2014

With the sun setting on the 2010 World Cup, the focus now shifts to Brazil – host of the 2014 World Cup. South America’s largest country will host the tournament for the second time – the first was in 1950. It will be the first time two consecutive World Cups are held in countries from the southern hemisphere.

Brazil won its bid, in part, thanks to ambitious plans to make it a truly nationwide event, hosting games in 12 different cities spread out all over the country – Rio de Janeiro, São Paulo, Curitiba, Porto Alegre, Belo Horizonte, Brasilia, Cuiaba, Salvador, Recife, Natal, Fortaleza, Manaus. South Africa, by comparison, hosted games in nine cities.

This entry was posted in Development, Sport, Tourism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s